First, there is a new blog I am following.  The Wooden Pickle is run by a guy that is obviously smart and funny.  He says things in half the space it would take me and with more panache than I could hope to muster.  In any case, check it out.  He doesn’t write as often as I would prefer, so you definitely have time to add it to your RSS.

Second, a little ditty I came across this morning.  Not only do I understand exactly what is being said, but the brilliance of how it is performed is affecting and clear.  Geoff Dyer 1997:

What they all had in common, these ideal places for working, was that I never got any work done in them.  I would sit down at my desk and think to myself What perfect conditions for working, then I would look out at the sun smouldering over the wheat, or at the trees gathering the Tuscan light around themselves, or at the Parisians walking through the twilight and traffic of Rue de la Roquette, and I would write a few lines like ‘If I look up from my desk I can see the sun smouldering over the wheat’; or ‘Through my window: crowded twilight on the Rue de la Roquette’; and then, in order to make sure that what I was writing was capturing exactly the moment and the mood, I would look up again at the sun smouldering over the flame-red wheat or the crowds moving through the neon twillight of Rue de la Roquette and add a few more words like ‘flame-red’ or ‘neon’, and then, in order to give myself over totally to the scene, would lay down my pen and simply gaze out at the scene, thinking that it was actually a waste to sit here writing when I could be looking and by looking – especially on a Rue de la Roquette where the pedestrians hurrying home in the neon twilight would look up and see a figure at his desk, bathed in the yellow light of the anglepoise – actually become a part of the scene, whereas writing involved not an immersion in the actual scene but its opposite, a detachment from it. (229-30)

Dyer, Geoff.  (1997).  An excerpt from Out of sheer rage.  In J.C. Hallman, ed. (2009). The story about the story: Great writers explore great literature (226-430).  Portland: Tin House Books.

