The Pulitzer gold medal award
Image via Wikipedia

I am not sure why, I just know that I cannot help myself.  Later to-day, when?, the Pulitzer Prize committee will announce their winners for 2008 publications.  I have no horse in this race, but for a list of books that may win check the Pulitzer Prize First Edition Guide.  Somehow they have figured out odds for what will win.  Sadly, I have not read any of the books, but I will, of course, be buying the winner and then trying to take it to task.

To-day I will begin my assessment of The Lovely Bones a book a few years old now but one that received much acclaim.  So much so that when at the airport a few weeks ago two random people approached me to tell me how much they appreciated the book and then those people disappeared from my life forever.  What kind of book can produce such fealty that people would approach a stranger for no other reason to say how much they enjoyed the book that person is reading, and also probably enjoying?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
